The YWCA Greater Austin 2012 Women of the Year Awards Soiree

  The Young Women’s Christian Association of Greater Austin, which works to eliminate racism and empower women, is honoring five women for dedicating their lives to better those of Austin women, families and youth. 

The soiree this year is 6:30 to 9:30 p.m. June 15 at the Emma S. Barrentos Mexican American Cultural Center. The event will include a silent auction, a buffet dinner catered by Texas Kitchen Divas and the presentation of the 2012 Women of the Year Awards by Texas Tribune reporter Thanh Tan. Individual tickets are $65, and sponsorships are available from at $500 to $7,500.

This year the five honorees have been chosen because they have motivated and mentored groups and individuals in local communities. Award winners are chosen by a panel of YWCA volunteers.

The award winners are: Florinda Bryant, who will receive the Racial Justice Award because of her work with the Theatre Action Project; Krista Del Gallo who will receive the Woman’s Economic Empowerment Award for her work with the Texas Council on Family Violence; Victoria Volker, from Hay High School, who will receive the Young Woman of Acheivement Award; Rebecca Snearly, will receive the Leader of Promise Award for her work with Planned Parenthood and Sandra A. Martin, from the Center for Child Protection, who will win the Lifetime Achievement Award.

YWCA’s Women of the Year Awards Soiree is their largest fund-raising event. All funds collected go toward counseling services that women and families need in Austin.

Items in the silent auction will include $75 gift cards to Moonshine, salon products from Dora’s Salon, pet-sitting service gift cards from Amore Always, jewelry and crystal-ware.

Tickets can be purchased at or 512-326-1222.

Leave a reply

9 − 7 =